Tuesday, December 14, 2010

Sleep Solutions: Anti-CIO Resources

So for a long time I've been wanting to put together a list of anti-cio resources. Please submit your own resources as well! Feel free to use it in whatever way you want.

No Cry Sleep Alternatives:

- No cry sleep solution

website: http://www.pantley.com/elizabeth/books/0071381392.php

- Nighttime Parenting and The Sleep book

- Sleeping with your baby

- Sweet Dreams: A Pediatrician's Secrets for a Baby's Good Night's Sleep

- Dr. Sears list of sleep tips:


Pillow Talk: Helping Your Baby Get a Good Night's Sleep: http://www.mother-2-mother.com/pillowtalk.htm

- My list of sleep tips:




Peer Reviewed Research:

The Effect of Excessive Crying on Emotion Regulation: http://www.informaworld.com/smpp/content~content=a785034409~db=all

From the AAP: http://aapnews.aappublications.org/cgi/content/abstract/14/4/21

Maternal Emotional Availablitly at Night Time Predicts Sleep Quality: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/20545404

Baby Sleep Requirements: http://www.parentingscience.com/baby-sleep-requirements.html

Infant Crying and Maternal Responsiveness: http://www.jstor.org/pss/1127506

Science Says Excessive Crying Can be Harmful to Infants (review of research): http://askdrsears.com/html/10/handout2.asp

Australian Assocationa for Infant Mental Health Stament on CIO: http://www.gymealily.org/resources_paperva7.htm

Quotes from Health Care Professionals and Research Articles: http://bawlingbabies.blogspot.com/2006/06/quotes-from-various-doctors.html

Marital Problems Cause Baby Sleep Issues (not visa versa):


There is No Empirical Evidence that CIO is Safe:

Handout, "Is CIO Appropriate?": http://www.infantsleep.org/images/WAIMH_Handout2.pdf

No Research to Back CIO (like several books claim): http://www.infantsleep.org/cryingitoutresearch.html

Normal Infant Sleep:

Night Waking: http://www.storknet.com/cubbies/breast/AS-nightwaking.htm

Night Waking and Protection from SIDS: http://www.drmomma.org/2009/10/sleeping-with-baby-breastfeeding-night.html

Baby Sleep Requirements: http://www.parentingscience.com/baby-sleep-requirements.html

Healthy Infant Sleep (Dr. McKenna): http://www.drmomma.org/2009/12/healthy-infant-sleep.html

Sleeping Through the Night: http://www.drmomma.org/2009/12/sleeping-through-night.html

Collection of Sleep Studies: http://home.kellymom.net/parenting/sleep/sleepstudies.html

8 Infant Sleep Facts Every Parent Should Know: http://www.askdrsears.com/html/7/T070200.asp

Is Your Baby Sleeping Through the Night Yet?: http://www.drjen4kids.com/soap%20box/sleep%20stuff.htm

Wakeful 4 Month Olds: http://www.kellymom.com/parenting/sleep/4mo-sleep.html

When Will My Baby Sleep Through The Night?: http://www.llli.org/FAQ/sleep.html

Why Are Some Babies Night Owls?: http://www.ivillage.com/why-are-nursing-babies-often-night-owls/6-n-136871


Why CIO is Harmful: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fbYk5RiIwZI

Additional Information:

From the Baby's Perspective: http://parentingredefined.blogspot.com/2010/12/letters-from-baby-please-dont-let-me.html

Comfort and Crying: http://theattachedfamily.com/membersonly/?p=1255

A First-Person Perspective: http://womanuncensored.blogspot.com/2009/12/just-let-her-cry.html

Culture (Africa): http://www.blacktating.com/2010/09/why-african-babies-dont-cry.html

Why I No Longer Believe Babies Should CIO: http://www.theglobeandmail.com/life/parenting/infant/sleep/why-i-no-longer-believe-babies-should-cry-themselves-to-sleep/article149001/print/

Crying In-Arms: http://www.instinctiveparenting.com/flex/crying_and_emotional_release_in_babies_the_aware_parenting_approach/163/1

We are Hardwired to Respond to Crying (3rd Paragraph): http://www.parenting.com/article/Baby/Care/Soothing-a-Crying-Baby

Dads are Hardwired to Respond to Crying:


The Case Against CIO:


Harvard Research Says Children Need Touching Attention (not CIO): http://www.news.harvard.edu/gazette/1998/04.09/ChildrenNeedTou.html

A Mother's Affection Prevents Anxiety in Adulthood: http://www.cnn.com/2010/HEALTH/07/26/mother.affection.anxiety/index.html

The Potential Dangers of Leaving your Baby to Cry: http://eduarticles.com/cry-it-out-the-potential-dangers-of-leaving-your-baby-to-cry

10 Reasons not to CIO:


Controlling or Spoiling?: http://www.breastfeeding.asn.au/bfinfo/control.html

Controlled Crying... Oops Controlled Comforting: http://www.breastfeeding.asn.au/bfinfo/crying.html

Early Brain Development (and how CIO is harmful/affects it):


The Science of Attachment Parenting: http://www.naturalchild.org/guest/lauren_lindsey_porter.html

Stress in Infancy: http://www.naturalchild.org/guest/linda_folden_palmer2.html

Why CIO Doesn't Work: http://www.drjen4kids.com/myths/crying%20it%20out.htm

Cry It Out. Yes? No?: http://www.askdrsears.com/html/5/T051200.asp#T051205

Should I Let My Baby Cry It Out?: http://www.storknet.com/cubbies/parenting/cryitout.htm

Peaceful Parenting (has written extensively on this topic, go to search engine and put in cio): http://www.drmomma.org/

-- Excessive Crying Harmful to Babies: http://www.drmomma.org/2009/12/excessive-crying-harmful-to-babies.html

-- Dangers of Leaving a Baby to CIO: http://www.drmomma.org/2009/12/dangers-of-leaving-baby-to-cry-it-out.html

-- CIO Causes Brain Damage: http://www.drmomma.org/2009/12/crying-it-out-causes-brain-damage.html

-- The Case for Cue Feeding (feeding on demand, even at night): http://www.drmomma.org/2010/01/case-for-cue-feeding.html

-- The Con of Controlled Crying: http://www.drmomma.org/2009/12/cons-of-controlled-crying-cio.html

-- Babies Aren't Soldiers: http://www.drmomma.org/2010/10/babies-arent-soldiers.html

Getting at the CIO Approach:

Babywise is Harmful: http://www.rickross.com/reference/gfi/gfi5.html

Babywise Recalled (FROM THE AAP): http://aapnews.aappublications.org/cgi/content/abstract/14/4/21

Dr. Sears on Babywise: http://www.drmomma.org/2009/12/train-up-child-in-way-he-should-go.html

Confessions of a Failed Babywiser: http://www.drmomma.org/2010/01/confessions-of-failed-babywiser.html

Pediatric Nurse and Former Ezzo (Babywise) Patient: http://www.drmomma.org/2010/01/pediatric-nurse-and-former-ezzo-parent.html

Evaluating Ezzo Programs: http://www.ezzo.info/index.htm

Four Lies Sleep Trainers Tell You and the One Truth They Won't: http://networkedblogs.com/g2s6a


A couple topics go hand-in-hand with the topic of CIO and STTN. One is Bed Sharing and the other is the idea of "spoiling" or "habit forming". I have more resources on these topics if you don't find the information you need above.

Another thing to consider is that babies whose parents use CIO will often sleep more. Not all babies, in fact research shows babies left to CIO end up crying more all-in-all than babies who are not left to CIO. But you will hear stories from moms who let their babies CIO and now they sleep "wonderfully". We must consider that CIO often "works" but what does this mean? (A baby stops asking for help). And at what cost? (Too high of one). Is it safe? (In many cases NO). And can we achieve the same results without letting our baby be in distress? (Yes).


  1. Thank you for this wealth of resources! I'll be looking over all these links.

  2. Looking at this for the first time, this is amazing! It's getting it's very own bookmark, facebook share, and I suspect will be referred to by me many times.

  3. Thank you! I am always updating it so if you ever come across something not listed please feel free to let me know :).

  4. Wow- this is quite a list of resources. Thanks!

  5. Thank you for putting this together. I'm working on a post about my son's sleeping habits and will be sure to reference your helpful list!